April Snows

DSC_1740

April came in like a lion this year with some unexpected snow, snow that seems to want to hang around! Anyhow, it seemed like a good time to check out the Mitchell sewage lagoons so off we went. As I was taking a close look at the small songbirds, like the Song Sparrow above,along the edge of the pond, a smallish dark bird with a bright yellow beak and long legs flew into the area that I had been exploring. I had to wait for a while to get a decent shot so that I could make a definite identification – definitely a Sora. A lifer for me!

DSC_1743
DSC_1772

DSC_1812.JPG
There were also quite a few Red-winged Blackbirds, American Tree Sparrows and also some Golden Crowned Kinglets (which did not cooperate for photos of course!).

DSC_1838.JPG

On the unfrozen parts of the pond, there were Bufflehead Ducks, Canada Geese, Mallards, a few gulls and a pair of Blue-winged Teals.

2 thoughts on “April Snows

  1. Sounds like a good time. Makes me want to get into Mitchell again, it seems to change daily this time of year. I really like the sora photos. Seems early for it to be back. Never been able to get as good shots as those, they are often very shy.

    • It’s one of my favourite spots. You never know what you’ll find there. I was completely unaware of soras until now. But you’re right, they are evidently fairly common but very elusive! I will be keeping my eyes peeled now that I know about them!

Leave a Reply

